updates and more

IMG_0100It’s been a hot minute since I last posted. Life has really got in the way of blogging. Scratch that. Got in the way sounds like what happened isn’t want I wanted to happen. A lot of wonderful things happened, which in turn, lead me in directions that didn’t include writing.

Now, I’m back baby! Life has gotten very, very real. 2014 was a wonderful year where I basically got to achieve all of my (non-financial) dreams. I cried going to Europe. I’d got to the point where I never thought that would happen. My film was at Cannes, recently was at Sapporo Int. Short Film Fest, and soon is going to another large festival (TBA). Between there, it’s been to upstate New York (USA), Portland Arts Centre (USA), Chino (Japan), Nagoya (Japan), and Pakistan. Soon it might even go to Dubai! It’s even been shown at my hometown cinema, The Regal, which was my window to the world as a young boy.

All of this is wonderful, truly wonderful. But none of it is real. It’s like that moment in The Wizard of OZ where Toto pulls back the curtain and Dorothy finally sees that what she thinks is the Wizard is just an illusion. In fact, he was just a little old man pushing buttons. Which, in a nutshell, is what my experience of the Cannes Film Market was all about. It wasn’t sad, it was just a moment where the fantasy fell away, and I realised that, “Oh, that’s what this is about.”

When you realise that the red carpet is just a carpet, and that you can’t hug a DVD at night… it’s time to get real. This year some relationships ended, and others began, both professional and personal. Best of all, I met the love of my life.

That’s what the image of the Jams is all about. I tried three jams when I went back to Australia. One is a supermarket brand, 45% Raspberries, the middle one, a jam from France, is 55% Raspberries, and the final one is from a restaurant, was 60% Raspberries. All of them claim to be real Jam, and to a certain degree they are. Certainly more real than most Jams that are filled with glucose, but even then, there are degrees of real. If you think of the film work as the sugar, and the real life as the Raspberries… it’s a good analogy for life. How to find balance. And finding what’s works for you (which by the way, was the 55% one with the lemon twist).

2 thoughts on “updates and more

Add yours

  1. Great post. I too have made a couple of indie films and can relate (in a smaller way) to your experience. You hit the nail on the head when you mentioned balance. That’s what it’s all about. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

