#100gratefulDays – I’m glad I achieved success when I did – Day 001

 

 

Hey there, I’m going to be posting everyday for the next 100 days. I’ve been down in the dumps lately, and I want to do something to refocus myself on harnessing positive energy.

DSC_0169

I’m glad I achieved success when I did.

At the age of 24 I came up with a killer idea for a TV cartoon, and pitched it to the networks in Australia and the US. It got a lot of attention, and was extremely validating, but ultimately was rejected. And at the time, I was devastated. I still want to make that show. With all my heart.

Flash-forward to 2014 (ten years later), and I have a short film in Cannes (out of competition), and in Sapporo (in competition). And I’ve made a music video for Robyn Loau, my favourite singer in the world. And I’m getting to work with some of the most insanely talented people I’ve ever met (Paul, Adam, Qyoko, Jun, Lou, Robyn, Ken, Adrian).

If this had all happened to me when I was 24, I would probably be in a ditch somewhere today. I don’t think I was ready, or strong enough for it.

Perhaps, I’m not strong enough for it now. But, I am ready. I know the game. And I know when it’s time to take time out from the game. And I know that it is all just a game. The wizard of OZ really is just a little old man. I’ve looked behind the curtains of this thing we call life, and I’ve seen the strings.

Coming at this success now, I am able to see what is important. I thought I wanted to impress the world, when all I really wanted was to impress my family and friends. I so badly wanted to impress and get the approval of my Grandmother, who was a dressmaker for a Russian Princess. While she loved the film, she said that she was already impressed with the fact that I had left Australia and moved to a foreign country where I didn’t speak the language. Which is something I did over 8 years ago.

I was striving for something I already had.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

