Is this the next Gangnam Style?

In the wake of the huge success of Psy’s Gangnam Style, come Japan’s answer – World Order. Headed by a very handsome former MMA-fighter, this cool, chilled-out 5AM type song could really make some noise. It’s got a great video, with some nice dancing – very perfume. It encompasses all that we know about Tokyo, with the new, the past, and the Japanese Salarymen. One thing that would be good if it did become successful, would be that it might dispel the idea that Japanese men are not masculine or handsome.

Are they OK?

10 thoughts on “Is this the next Gangnam Style?

Add yours

  1. Interesting video. And I see that it does have viral qualities but I think that’s only for the video. It deserved a better song. What are gangnam style so great was the easy to follow beat and baseline and a tag line that would get stuck in your head even if you didn’t speak the language. This song didn’t have anything that stood out that I could see myself repeating without caring that I don’t know what I’m saying.

    1. I agree that the song was probably not the right choice. It’s a great song in my opinion, but it is a chill-out track, which don’t generally get large audiences… however, I really like the beat, to me it’s something that you need to listen to a few times before it sticks – so in that sense the video makes sense – you will come back and watch it again.

  2. Short answer: No.
    With a long because.
    The average western person needs a pop song with a 15 second hook. “Gangnam Style” has that, this doesn’t it. “GS” has just enough English in it to make it understandable. This has none. Psy is also a one man show who steals your attention. While I like the leader of World Order, he doesn’t pop out of these videos.
    However I do like this video, and the fact that you posted it, because it shows a classic Japanese problem. Japan has a lot going for it, but it can’t figure out how to market it. Just like the dance moves in the video, they’ve been done a hundred times before and it doesn’t have the same punch. However I’ll give these chaps some credit for being quick to capitalize on the Olympics. I really like World Order and their positive messages. Here’s hoping they can do better next time.
    -End Rant.

    PS- I’m almost out of here. Let’s catch up soon!

    1. So, when are we going to meet then?????

      re: the video – I agree with you to a point. I think it’s a really nice way to show off Tokyo. I like seeing it in the early morning with not many people – my favourite time of day in the city. I also like that the lead is handsome, unlike Psy.

      Interestingly, the lead singer is supposed to be a good speaker (I know someone who used to teach him). So, you would think they would have exploited that element more.

  3. Hello Hamish
    Thanks for your like! Your blog is great and I’m going to follow shortly. I ADORE Genki Sudo (lead singer of New Order) – so what school do you work at?????!!!!!!

    1. Hello there, thank you for following my little film blog 🙂 Genki Sudo seems like a pretty cool guy, more than just a handsome MMA fighter, but also dancer, and filmmaker etc.

      You can probably find out which school I work at through google, but I’m not really sure why that’s important 😉

      By the way, I think you meant to write “World Order”, but have you heard of the group “New Order”? If not, check out their songs “Blue Monday”, “Bizarre Love Triangle”, “Regret” and “Sixty miles an hour”. You really won’t regret it! (pardon the pun) 🙂

      1. I definitely know New Order – it’s my generation. Big Audio Dynamite were pretty good too.

        I’m going to check your school through Google – Genki Sudo is the sexiest man in Tokyo!!!!

        My dad’s Australian so have passed by Newcastle on the way from Sydney to Brisbane. Love your short films.

      2. Thank you for your support on the short films, feel free to share them if you like, especially Robyn Loau’s “Never let you down” music video, I really wish that had been seen by more people.

        Newcastle’s a great town with so many hidden gems. You should tell your dad to stop by sometime.

        I’m still a bit confused as to why you want to know where I work. Could you please answer that question?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

