Fear of a Page One Rewrite

A Page One Re-write.

Nothing sounds more like failure than that. For me it confirms all the fears that I have as a writer. I’m not good enough. I finally found a great idea, but I’m not talented enough to pull it off.

Not so. Not necessarily.

One time, my computer broke down and I lost a script I’d been working on. I finally gave in and started again, and rewrote the whole thing. What I found was that all the ideas that I had been trying to put into the original, through many drafts with such great difficultly… was effortless in the page one rewrite.

So, don’t fear it. It’s actually quite liberating.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

